Just Saying

Daviess Co. KY Seems to be an epidemic of computer troubles going around lately.  Mine has been an ongoing problem for a couple of years, so you would think I would be used to it by now.  But I’m not.  Every time I get it worked on it is okay for a month or so, and then out it goes again.  I’ve considered drop-kicking it across the room, but my toe is already sore, so the idea is not appealing right now.  Guess that’s one more thing I’ll live with for a while longer.  I’m saving my pennies for an iPad.  I think if I ever get another PC it will be a Mac.  Internet Explorer seems to come with built in obsolescence.

Went out for a while this morning.  Actually, went to the pharmacy.  I’m trying to find a cure for these blasted sinuses, other than blasting them with dynamite.  I think that would be kinda painful.  I’m sure it would take care of the problem though .allergies

I’ve spent a few days making stocks this week.  Not the kind of stocks that pay off though.  Beef stock, ham stock, chicken stock.  The kind you cook with.  All I wanted when I started was a bowl of noodles, so I made the beef stock.  Never did get around to making the noodle part, just ate a beef sandwich from the short ribs I used for the stock.  Not bad.  Used the rest of the meat for Mexican dishes, tacos, burritos, chimichangos, etc.

After using up the beef, I was cleaning out the fridge.  Good and bad aspects there.  I found some ham hocks, leftover country ham, and seasoning ham, so I threw them in a pot and made ham stock, using the wilting veggies that were in the fridge to liven up the stock.  There will be split pea or bean soup in the future with this stock, which is stored in the freezer.

While cleaning out the freezer to make room for the ham stock, I removed some chicken legs and frozen veggie pieces I had stuck there for a time when I would have enough to make stock.   Okay, so today I made chicken stock for the chicken and dressing casserole I’ve been craving for a couple of months.  I already made the seasoned croutons for the dressing, so all I really have to do is assemble the casserole and stick it in the oven.  Then I can sit back and enjoy the casserole until I reach the “not again!” stage, where I will start hanging bags of food on the neighbor’s doors.

In case you haven’t figured it out, it’s been a boring week, except for Tuesday when I went to the library.

BBQ capitol of the world Tomorrow will kick off the annual International Bar-B-Q Festival, with entertainment beginning at 4 p.m., and the lighting of the kettle at 5 p.m.  The lighting of the kettle is important, because that is when the cooking time begins, with the judging and serving on Saturday.  Judging will begin at 2:45, and serving at 3:00 p.m.  Seven teams are competing, and all are required to cook at minimum of 600 pounds of mutton, 300 chickens, and 60 gallons of burgoo.  Each of those kettles hold about 60 gallons, and the smart teams will make more than one kettle, and they will also cook more than the minimum amount of all food, because every year the food sells out in less than an hour, leaving a line of disgruntled, hungry people waiting in line to hear the bad news.

Also, after a sunny week, the clouds and rain moved in this afternoon.  We all knew it would happen.  Every year it happens.  Plan an outdoor event anywhere in Owensboro or Daviess County and it will be rained on.  They have even changed the time frame of the Fest, and just moved the rain from the original time frame to Mother’s Day weekend.  Thanks a lot guys.  We moms really appreciate that.

A.

8 responses to “Just Saying

    • I’m sure hoping it will be Mark. The forecast is for rain, but I hope it only rains on the festival and clears up for Sunday. If it’s raining I’ll be home alone, boo hoo.

Leave a Reply

