I Have Been Honored

Award--WordPress Blogatorium

Today I pulled myself out of  my nest and checked my email, to find this beautiful new award waiting for me.  My friend Martin, of Malvedelos Mindscape has created this award for the WordPress family Blogatorium group on FaceBook, and I have been honored as the first recipient.  Suddenly I really AM speechless, a condition that is totally new to me lately.   Most of my life I have kept my opinions to myself (stop giggling, I really have) but in the past 15 years I’ve found my voice and used it, not always to my best advantage.

I was actually considering shutting down my blog, since I am fighting an infection that has taken hold of me and doesn’t want to let go, but this has restored my faith in my ability to keep fighting all odds, and keep on sharing my stories and battles with you, my family and friends.

There have been some victories lately, the main one being that I have proven my doctors wrong about one huge thing.  I’m walking again.  Only around the apartment so far.  But, against what 3 doctors told me, I am walking.  Now my new goal is to keep working on that until I can walk safely outside my apartment.  From there it will be walks around the building, and then to the grocery.  I have said before I am a stubborn woman, and all I need is for someone to tell me I can’t do something to make me try to prove them wrong.

This blog will continue as long as I am able to keep it going.  I have discovered ATT will be phasing out the DSL system we use in my building and going to U-Verse exclusively.  This building is not set up for U-verse, so if that happens I will lose my Internet and telephone service.  My cell phone will continue unchanged, but my only option to keep my blog going will be to save for an I-Pad, and I don’t know if that will be possible with my medical and pharmacy bills being as high as they are.  If I suddenly disappear from the radar, please know it will be because of lack of access to my Internet, or because of my death.  We never know about death, but if it’s just the Internet, I’ll be able in some way to leave a message on Face Book that I have lost that.  If I can, in some way find a way to get the I-pad I can continue blogging with that, hopefully at a nearby Internet cafe.

So, that’s the story for right now.  I have a friend coming in this afternoon for a visit, Mike Mike chillin' will be here later to try to rig up a system on the back of my wheels so I can carry a few more bags of groceries on the back, and I have to look for something to eat in my fridge.  There are a lot of things in there, I just have to find something that looks like I want it right now.  I’ve been spending a lot of time standing in front of it, door open, looking at the food and wondering what I want to eat.   It’s shaming to think I could starve when my fridge is full of food, but none of it appeals to my queasy tummy.

So thanks to Martin, and all of you who are checking my blog out now, thanks to this award.  I treasure it.  And I’ll be checking all of you out, but it will take time.  Now I’ll be walking to the kitchen to see if anything new has magically turned up in the fridge, then back to my nest for a nap.  I love and appreciate you all, my angels.

A.

29 responses to “I Have Been Honored

  1. I would hate to lose your blog, I think you write so well. Check ebay and see if there is an ipad listed. Sometimes you can find a good deal. If you get the right one, you can get a per needed monthly minutes package for them. Buy 30 days at a time or run it through your cell package.

    • Thanks for the idea PLGCM. My cell comes thru my son’s friends and family package, and he would kill me if I did that. I’ll get it in some way though. Desperate times call for desperate measures, so some way, I’ll get it.

  2. Oh, my dear friend Angie. I think that all your siblings and children and even grandchildren should pitch in and get you an iPad as a special blogging present, a one-time holiday, a celebration of what you need to be the best you you can be. Tell them Mark Bialczak says he’ll chip in with a check for $25 if they do. I wish I could offer more, but, well, times are tough.

    Any other bloggers out there that can chip in a buck or two so Angie can get her iPad?

    • Mark, that’s such a generous offer, but I’ll work it out somehow. My kids don’t care, my sibs don’t know I’m still alive, and the grands aren’t old enough to have jobs yet, except for the ones working their way thru college, so I will have to figure this one out for myself. I’ve managed so far, and I’ll manage this one also. I’m stubborn and I’m provoked by the management of this building and by ATT, so that means I’m getting fighting mad. Also building up strength to begin a new battle, so in some way it will happen.

      • Yes, Angie, I am so heartened by the surprise news that you have been walking in your apartment in today’s post! I should have mentioned that first, but I was so disheartened by the possibility that you would be losing the blog that I fixated on trying to fix that.

        You are strong. I didn’t mean to make you feel otherwise.

        Your apartment management should get wifi in the lobby or something as a stopgap measure.

        Freaking AT&T.

      • Mark, you didn’t make me feel less strong, and I am touched by your generous offer. There are a lot of things the apartment manager should do, including stopping her rumor spreading, but since she was promoted to that job from the maintenance department, where she worked cleaning the hallways, she doesn’t know how to run the building, and depends on lies and rumors, plus sleeping with HUD authorities to keep her job. It will catch up with her some day, and hopefully the IRS will also start wondering about certain discrepancies in the books and start an investigation there, but in the meantime she will reap what she is sowing when the people living here lose their phone service and die painful deaths in their apartments because they will no longer be able to call for help. Every dog has it’s day, and hers is coming sooner than she expected.

        I also hate ATT, but it is our only option here for Internet. I am sure I will be able to raise the money I need, if I don’t already have it. My son handles my banking, and he is thinking about his inheritance, so I may have to shame him into releasing my money to me, but I WILL get it. If not, I’ll arrange a loan from a brother who remembers I haven’t died yet, and give the news to my son, who will then have to repay my brother from my account.

    • Thanks Doc. I’ll work it out some way and keep on writing. Just seeing this award in my inbox this morning gave me heart that was much needed after all of the bad news lately from the building manager and ATT, so I needed something to pick me up. This did, and being able to walk again is getting better every day. Just have to keep reminding myself not to start break dancing just yet.

      • I am so happy you feel this way. You realize you are the 1st ever recipient of that award, right???

        Happy …. ❤ …

      • After reading it 5 or 6 times it finally sank in Doc. Then I sat here in total shock for an hour, wondering how that could possible have happened, pinched myself a few times, and then realized I must be doing something right. It’s still hard to believe that out of the thousands of bloggers out there I was chosen as the first recipient for this award, but I’ll eventually realize it’s truth and things will be back to normal. At least my breathing is back to normal.

  3. OH, Sweetheart, you have me crying. I don’t know your story but I was not walking for 2 years due to 2 failed back surgeries which left me a mess. OMG! OMG! I am weeping. It took me SO long to walk again and it was agony but I did it. That was over 20 years ago and I am still walking. Please write me anytime if you need to talk. Please. My email is amyruhland57@gmail.com. I won’t leave my telephone number here,
    but if you want to talk to me, and if I can talk (SO busy with gardens) I will. Hang in there!!! Know I LOVE YOU!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

    • Amy, thank you so much. I will definitely be writing to you. Probably from my primary email at agwink@bellsouth.net for now, then later, I’m not sure. Good luck with your gardens. I had them once and loved every minute spent there. Now I grow plants in my window, hoping for fresh herbs.

      • I’ll be watching for your email. I’ll do my best to keep in touch with you. Please PLEASE keep in mind how busy I am in my gardens and in between when it rains, I am catching up inside my home. With Love, Amy

      • It’s okay Amy. I know everyone is busy, so I will not be holding my breath. I stay busy also, and realize it’s hard to find the extra minutes for everything else. I just so appreciate you for your concern and love.

  4. If anything the fact you are starting to walk again is a sign that things are not always as they seem. You were told you would not walk anymore and you do now.
    So following in the same train of thought, I have a feeling the solution to your internet problems is going to appear sooner than you think.
    It would be such a shame not to be reading anymore after having just started to get to know about you.
    Congratulation for the award 🙂

    • Thank you Anyes. I am working on the solution now, so I think the answer will appear soon. I have faith that this is not the end for me and my blog, but a whole new beginning. I have my stories and I was meant to share them, so share them I will. It is good to get to know you also, and I love your blog name — Far Away In The Sunshine, there is a dream just waiting for me to catch up to it.

  5. Lovely Angie, I’m sorry to hear you are fighting an infection, but wow!!! Amazing news on walking round the apartment!! That’s awesome news :)) and do keep blogging, we would all is you too much xxx

    • Elaine, I will continue as long as I am able to type, even if it involves using my teeth, LOL. There may be days I won’t be able to get to the computer, but I am determined to get the Ipad so I can blog from my nest when necessary. And a determined lady is a formidable one..

  6. Yay for you! I love that someone sent you this! Well deserved! I love your stories! Don’t shut your blog down just take a little siesta sista!💖🌸🌻🌺

Leave a Reply

